Home Page


As children acquire their reading skills they move through the Cam Everlands Reading Scheme. The levels within this scheme are indicated by colour.


The EYFS and KS1 progression is:

  • Brown
  • Pink
  • Red  - It is expected that Year R children are confident readers in this band
  • Yellow                          
  • Light blue
  • Green
  • Orange
  • Turquoise  - It is expected that Year 1 children are confident readers in this band
  • Purple
  • Gold
  • White - It is expected that Year 2 children are confident readers in this band


This is followed by Lime, Ruby and Sapphire that are aimed at giving the children the time and experience of reading many types of stories, information texts and poetry to become confident, independent readers.


The KS2 progression is:

  • White
  • Lime
  • Ruby
  • Sapphire


We are very fortunate to have many different publishers and authors represented in The Cam Everlands Reading Scheme.


Some of the most well known schemes include

  • Oxford Reading Tree
  • PM Starters and PM Plus
  • Project X
  • Phonics Bug
  • Floppy's Phonics
  • Oxford Literacy Web


Just some of the most well known authors include

  • Julia Donaldson
  • Dick King-Smith
  • John Dougherty
  • Michael Morporgo

Early Reading Information for Parents and Carers